For any person to lawfully marry in the State of Hawaii, a license for that purpose must be obtained from an authorized agent (Section 572-1.7, Hawaii Revised Statutes). Once the license has been issued, there is no waiting period before the marriage can take place.
How fast can you get married in Hawaii?
Both of you must appear in person before a marriage license agent and bring along the required documents such as your proof of age or proof of previously terminated marriages. Marriage licenses are valid 30 days in the State of Hawaii after you are issued approval. After that, there is no waiting period to get married.
What are the requirements to get married in Maui?
You do not need to be a resident of Hawaii or a U
citizen to marry. No blood tests are needed. Both applicants must be at least 18 years of age. Applicants must present proof of age—Usually a state-issued I
or driver's license.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Maui?
After your wedding, it takes about 3 weeks for the license to be processed plus the time it takes for the certified copy to be mailed to you. The state actually quotes a delivery of the marriage license of 60-120 days after the marriage has been performed.
Do you need a permit to get married on the beach in Maui?
Do we need a beach permit? A. Yes, the State of Hawaii requires a beach permit and we provide them in all of our packages so that you don't have to worry about it. We also provide the insurance that is required.
Can I get married on the beach in Maui Hawaii?
Maui is the perfect place to get married; its unparalleled scenery and picture-perfect weather make it one of the top destination beach wedding locations in the world.
Do you need witnesses to get married in Hawaii?
A marriage in Hawaii is legally recognized all over the globe*, and the only thing a happy couple needs is a marriage license. A witness is not required, so eloping in Hawaii couldn't be easier!Mar 3, 2020
How easy is it to get married in Hawaii?
Marriage License – Hawaii makes obtaining a marriage license incredibly easy. You can apply online from home. Once you arrive in Hawaii, you'll both need to pick up your license at the Department of Health or with a licensing agent. The in-person process takes about 15 minutes.
What is a quick wedding called?
Today the term "elopement" is colloquially used for any marriage performed in haste, with a limited public engagement period or without a public engagement period. Some couples elope because they wish to avoid parental or religious objections.
How can I get married in Hawaii for cheap?
Elope. A romantic ceremony for two is the most budget-conscious wedding option. Many resorts and wedding coordinators have "Just The Two of You" wedding packages that are extremely affordable. Start by checking out the major hotels and resorts for wedding packages, and go from there.
How do you get married on the beach in Hawaii?
What You Need for a Beach Wedding on Oahu. Like all the Hawaiian Islands, Oahu requires a permit from the State of Hawaii to marry on a beach. We can apply for and pick up the permit for your event. At the time of writing, a Hawaii beach wedding or vow renewal permit costs $50.
What are the laws of getting married in Hawaii?
Age Requirements: Without parental consent, Hawaii imposes a minimum age of 18 years old in order to get married. With parental consent, individuals as young as 15 years of age are able to apply for a marriage license. At 15, individuals need written consent from parents or guardians and a judge.
Can anyone marry you in Hawaii?
Yes, anyone can become an officiant in the State of Hawaii and perform a marriage legally.
Can you get married without a ceremony?
They must make a personal declaration that they take each other as husband and wife. This must be in the presence of not less than two witnesses of legal age. This requirement is indispensable. The absence of a marriage ceremony will make the marriage null and void.
How do I get a courthouse wedding in Hawaii?
Please call for an Appointment Phone Us: (808) 386-6520 You will need to get a Marriage License before getting married. Until further notice the State of Hawaii Department of Health are issuing licenses by appointments only
What is the best month to get married in Hawaii?
The peak wedding season is typically March-August during the “summer”. There is somewhat of a “winter' from October – January which means slightly cooler temperatures and more frequent rain. There is also a peak in tourism in the middle of the summer as well as around the holidays, so the islands are much busier.
Who can legally marry a couple?
A licensed or ordained minister, priest or rabbi; justice of the peace; and most judges can marry couples. 6.
What do we need to get married?
Driver's licenses or passports (government-issued photo ID) Birth certificates. Social Security number. Divorce decree if you were previously married and are divorced.
What documents do you need to get married in Hawaii?
Do you have to change your last name when you get married?
Contrary to popular belief, a woman's surname does not automatically change to her husband's surname upon marriage. Neither will your marriage certificate indicate in any way what surname you will be using following your marriage. A marriage certificate simply records the names of the couple who are marrying.
Do you need witnesses to get married?
Witnesses were historically required to make sure that the wedding was done legally, that neither party was being forced into the marriage and that the officiant carried out their job correctly. Today, wedding witnesses perform the same role and it's still a legal requirement to have them.
Do I need ID on my wedding day?
You are not required to bring any documents or ID. The registrar will be happy to answer any queries you may have regarding the ceremony.
How long does signing the register take wedding?
There are no rules when it comes to picking the wedding ceremony songs for when you sign the register, but there are a few things to bear in mind. The whole thing usually takes around 10 minutes – that gives time for you, your partner and your witnesses to get everything signed.
What should a bride wear to a courthouse wedding?
What does a bride wear to a courthouse wedding? Whatever you wear is entirely up to you—there are no rules! Some popular outfits for a courthouse wedding include bridal suits, mini dresses, slip dresses, and jumpsuits.
Do you say vows at a courthouse wedding?
With a courthouse wedding, there tend to be less than ten guests. All in all, a courthouse wedding can be done in less than ten minutes. It also doesn't require any of the customs we usually associate with a wedding. You don't need a sermon, you don't have to say vows, and you don't have to exchange rings.
How is a court wedding done?
A courthouse wedding is a nonreligious ceremony that allows you to legally marry your partner. Unlike a religious ceremony, courthouse weddings are presided over by a legal official, such as a judge or court clerk.